Tue, 19 Nov 2019

Cape Town - As the new Absa Premiership season approaches, Orlando Pirates have confirmed the release of a number of players from their books.

Out of contract defender Abbubaker Mobara has already confirmed he will return to Cape Town to join up with Benni McCarthy at Cape Town City while Pirates also confirmed on their website that Thabo Qalinge, Jackson Mabokgwane and Ayanda Nkosi will leave the club.

"In terms of the First Team, orlandopiratesfc.com can confirm the release of Abbubaker Mobara, Jackson Mabokgwane, Ayanda Nkosi and Thabo Qalinge," the club said in an official statement on their website.

They also confirmed a number reserve team players that will leave the club.

They are Reanetse Ramatlapeng, Katleho Molaba, Samuel Nkomo, Phumulani Masinga, Phila Mzila, Reanetse Ramatlapeng, Ricardo Lourenco, Riyaaz Nell, Tebogo Ngwenya, Rodi Sibanda, Lucky Mdingi and Zaahir Witbooi.

"The Club would like to thank all the players for their service and wish them all of the best in their future endeavours," the statement ended.

The Buccaneers, who ended second in the Absa Premiership behind Mamelodi Sundowns, will return to pre-season training next week.

Sign up for Philadelphia News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!